VIVIDly (colour)

I’ll be honest: I didn’t love my VIVID experience and perhaps this ‘lack’ is reflected in the photo here (i.e. not destined to become one of my favourites).

I had been at Sydney Opera House to see/hear the Wayne Shorter Quartet earlier in the evening, and I was feeling tired. I’d been on the other side of the country, in Perth, just the day before, having flown across to celebrate a milestone birthday of an old friend. The trip was worthwhile – the look on my friend’s face as she walked into the room and saw that the few of us (the Eastern states contingent) were present, alongside the larger local set, was one I will cherish for a long time. But I think the previous weeks‘ continent-hopping had caught up with me somewhat by now and I was feeling a bit flat*.

*If you’re feeling knackered, watching an 82-year old Wayne Shorter and his bandmates makes you feel even more so! Seriously, though, he was wonderful.

The annual VIVID Festival is now in its eighth year, and the crowds this year were much bigger than I’d experienced in previous years. I can’t say it was enjoyable. People were bumping into my gear (I had a camera in hand, another slung over an arm, as well as a cr0ss-body satchel) and I didn’t feel as though I could spend any time in one spot comfortably or happily.

I had intended to target the installation in the Botanic Garden, but I couldn’t muster the enthusiasm to join the queue.

As I wandered through the sea of people, I kept thinking about all the times I’d been at the Opera House in the early morning, and having the space mostly to myself. I’ve never liked crowds, and I suppose this sort of event brings them out in droves. (To say nothing of the selfie-stickheads.)

And, apparently, I’ve been blogging with the WordPress platform for 10 years today, so perhaps it’s fitting to be pushing out two posts at once: there are a couple of B&W photos on the other hangout, if you’re interested.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Normally I would prefer the black and white – this time however I love the colours – especially the light on the concrete 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

