A few more from Fred’s and Charlie Parker’s

What occurs to me as I review this series of photos is: I lean toward the dark more than I do to the  light. As of right now, I need to remind myself to go lighter than what my default seems to be. I spent a fair amount of time lightening, and then some more… and yet, now, again, I feel as though a couple of these shots are a tad darker than most people would prefer. I guess I must be a ‘mushroom’ at heart – always hanging out in a dark corner!

Complaints aside, these are from the front bar of Fred’s and Charlie Parker’s, which is handily accessed via the stairs from the former. Of course, I was in love with the Fred’s ‘bar stools’ (more like high chairs, albeit sophisticated), and the stone floor, the lighting and the various other soft furnishings. Fred’s has windows which let in the daylight, and as I was there between four and six-thirty p.m., you can see there’s quite a bit of a difference between the photos taken early and those taken at the end.

It would be remiss of me not to mention the reference to jazz great Charlie Parker. I can’t tell you if I heard any of his music whilst I was there because I was concentrating on the task at hand, but I recall, as I was wrapping up the session, a fleeting thought along the lines of, “This would be a great place to sit back with a cocktail, some clever conversation, whilst letting the jazz do its thing.” (Have I ever mentioned that jazz is my go-to music, by the way?) I will be back to Charlie Parker’s, and Fred’s… with or without the camera.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERApb021489-milner_merivale_freds.jpgOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERApb021743-milner_merivale_fredspb021744-milner_merivale_freds1.jpgOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERApb021746-milner_merivale_charlieparkers1.jpgOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERApb021517-milner_merivale_charlieparkers1.jpgpb021717-milner_merivale_freds1.jpgpb021757-milner_merivale_charlieparkers.jpgOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I like the mirror/plates and flowers shot. If I’d taken that shot, I would have had a reflection of my foot , just in the corner of the mirror or my shadow on the wall 🙂 It’s always tricky putting a mirror in a photo – nicely done 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

