In Kyoto

I packed a Field Notes notebook and a mini-sized Delfonics ballpoint for our holiday. At first, in Tokyo, I made notes but only half-heartedly. I used to be really enthusiastic about documenting activities, thoughts and any/all noteworthies in my younger days, but now it’s a struggle. By the time we got to Kyoto, I was barely recording anything. I think I had given up before getting to the midway point of the holiday.

Where do you stand on this subject? Are you the dutiful notetaker-on-holiday, or are you happy to rely entirely on recall (not minding too much if you might mis-remember a detail here or there)? If you haven’t guessed by now, I’m still a little annoyed with myself for failing to fill my notebook. Especially now, it was a challenge working out which temple or shrine was which – because we visited quite a number of them! (There are more than 1,000 in Kyoto, in case you were wondering.) I had to refer to my Lonely Planet Japan so that I could make a reasonable stab at captioning the pics; I couldn’t pinpoint them all, though…

But on the hand, I’m reasonably content with the selection here, which I think shows Kyoto still holding on to its late-Autumn colours – we were there in December, which I think is considered Winter. It was really quite balmy when we were there. I think I could easily have done without my down jacket. (And don’t get me started on the climate change debate–!) Arashiyama Bamboo Grove was awesome and other-worldly, but I would’ve loved to have seen it on a less busy day; I don’t think December is considered high season either, which is a scary thought.

pc020780-japan_kyoto_j
Arriving at the first of many…
pc020784-japan_kyoto-bw
Man at the gate
pc020815-japan_kyoto
Kiyomizu-dera Buddhist temple overlooking Kyoto. The temple complex was established in 798, but the buildings on site today were reconstructed from 1633
pc020799-japan_kyoto-bw
Ancient Kiyomizu-dera temple captured on today’s most popular camera device
pc020850-japan_kyoto_temple
Sightseers (one with ubiquitous surgical mask)
pc020828-japan_kyoto_maiko
Maiko and traffic cone
pc020821-japan_kyoto
Southern Higashiyama area of Kyoto
pc020839-japan_kyoto_temple
“Take my picture!” she said to her boyfriend. After he had done so, she checked the photo, gave feedback, and asked him to do it again
pc020823-japan_kyoto_cafe
Not Starbucks. It was a very stylish coffee shop, but I didn’t take note of its name…
pc020868-japan_kyoto_women
Well-dressed older ladies in downtown Kyoto
pc030001-japan_kyoto_arashiyama
Doing what everyone does at Arashiyama Bamboo Grove
pc030016-japan_kyoto_arashiyama
I think this area was called Kameyama-koen (near Arashiyama Bamboo Grove)
pc030875-japan_kyoto_arashiyama
Bamboo
pc030884-japan_kyoto_arashiyama
I gave up trying to capture shots of the bamboo grove with no tourists in the frame after a while, and moved on to fiddling with fallen maple leaves
pc020831-japan_kyoto_buddha
We didn’t go inside this temple but I pressed my camera up close to the wall netting to snap the shot of the massive Buddha
pc020866-japan_kyoto_geisha
Locals at the lights in downtown Kyoto
pc010766-japan_kyoto_woman
Nighttime stroll
pc010755-japan_kyoto_lantern-man
Painting lanterns at night
pc010770-japan_kyoto_night
Away from the crowds
pc040023-japan_kyoto_autumn_cyclist
Cycling through
pc040022-japan_kyoto_temple-man-dog
Walking the dog, enjoying the surroundings
pc040051-japan_kyoto_imperial-palace-grounds
Bridge and maple tree on Kyoto Sento Imperial Palace grounds
pc040043-japan_kyoto_imperial-palace-crane
North Pond, Sento Imperial Palace
pc040080-japan_kyoto_imperial-palace-grounds
Capturing the colours in the Imperial Palace Park
pc040076-japan_kyoto_imperial-palace
[Still] Autumnal
pc040034-japan_kyoto_imperial-palace-grounds
Well-raked
pc040103-japan_kyoto_imperial-palace-grounds
Tour group through the tree branches on Sento Imperial Palace grounds
pc040084-japan_kyoto_imperial-palace-grounds
Cyclists in Kyoto Imperial Palace grounds
pc020819-japan_kyoto
Photo-worthy Kyoto
4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I love red maple leaves. We have some here in the U.K. too. They’re so small but perfectly formed.

    I’m very poor at documenting any kind of visit / travel until some time later: but that might work to my advantage. It gives me an opportunity to process and digest my feelings towards the place. However, that only works on a small scale: your adventure is much larger, and I feel that I would be inclined to miss too much relying on recall at a later date. For what it’s worth, both your pictures and words tell a wonderful story together.

    Happy New Year to you and to your family and friends. I wish you all the best, and safe travels, from myself and my family for 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, you see, we don’t have the red maple here in Aus, or at least, I haven’t come across them myself. So I was charmed!

      Thankfully, we have travel books and Google etc. readily at our disposal these days for post-referencing, that always helps! I’m glad the lack of detail didn’t detract from your experience of this post.

      Derek, best to you for and yours for 2017, too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. With the quality and beauty of the pictures you take, don’t even worry about taking notes – should you mistake a caption, it wouldn’t ruin our pleasure in the least! And by the way, I don’t take notes. Ruins my enjoyment. Whatever impressions remain after are the right ones 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

