Summer in the City

It has been more or less sweltering this week. On Wednesday night, after a 38C-day, the Hub and I got home from work, packed an overnight bag, and took ourselves to a hotel in the city, where I’d made a reservation the day before. Our rental apartment lacks air-conditioning, despite being relatively recently built, and it has that particular quality of being icy in the winter and boiling hot in the summer. I couldn’t bear the thought of a[nother] sleepless night, so I decided to treat us to a hotel for the night.

The remainder of the week has continued in a similar fashion – yes, yes, I know it’s summertime – but I’ve decided this year that the season is no longer my favourite. It’s been that for as long as I can remember, but after a dozen or so years of Sydney’s sticky version, I’ve ceased to be a fan. As we ‘speak’, I’m counting down the days to autumn…

p1130562-nsw_sydney_hyde-park

These photos were taken yesterday in Hyde Park at almost 7pm. I’d been through the park an hour or so earlier, with the Hub, and I couldn’t keep from exclaiming – several times – about how great the light was, so as soon as we got home, I got out of the [sweaty] work clothes and grabbed the camera and walked back to the park.

I’m sure I’ll miss the convenience of being close to the city and Hyde Park when we relocate – the date of which has been brought forward by about a month as of today because we found the new place this morning – but I’m looking forward to new perspectives and adventures in a new neighbourhood.

In the meantime, still feeling too lethargic to do much at all… (I’m thinking about packing, does that count as doing something?)

p1130568-nsw_sydney_hyde-park

I think the photo above (if not this post) qualifies to be linked to Ambience.

10 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Gorgeous light! and right now I envy your 38° – we’re used to it here in summer 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’ve portrayed an ambience I could do with just now in foggy, cold old England.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thinking about packing is definitely as tiresome as packing – especially when its 38 deg and 95% humidity. it’s pretty much the same here in Brisbane – and I agree; sure it’s summer, but I want Autumn 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

