Vintage Trouble

It doesn’t happen often, but occasionally, I find myself out late on a ‘school night’ – last night being a case in point. The band Vintage Trouble was at the Oxford Art Factory in Darlinghurst and despite the rainy weather, the venue was packed.

I enjoyed the show immensely, which was soulful, bluesy and funky by turns. Lead singer, Ty Taylor, was the consummate showman, impressing with both voice and athletic moves. I wish I could’ve caught a shot of him doing that signature leap of his but I was positioned by the periphery of the audience, and behind a giant to boot, so after trying several times to capture something decent, I gave up. I won’t even mention the stage dives, crowd surfing and the merry dance through the audience.

Besides that, I had brought along the longest lens in my kit (Olympus 75mm f/1.8), but it didn’t seem to do too well in the conditions – hunting, never seeming to find the focus, and eventually, I exchanged it for the Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 which coped much better. I would’ve loved to have been stationed at the edge of the stage like I noticed the professional gig photogs were (with their massive beast cameras), but the good thing about not shooting much was that I concentrated on the show instead and might even have enjoyed myself more than otherwise.

The photos here are limited in their scope, of course, as I didn’t get much of the wider stage/venue nor the band, but Mr Taylor was an wonderful subject – I only wish you could hear his voice now as it was last night. Needless to say, Vintage Trouble has been on repeat on my Spotify all day today (and will likely be for days to come). I love this post-gig warm fuzzy feeling…

P4120230 NSW_Sydney_Vintage TroubleP4120234 NSW_Sydney_Vintage TroubleP4120216 NSW_Sydney_Vintage TroubleP4120241 NSW_Sydney_Vintage TroubleP4120249 NSW_Sydney_Vintage TroubleP4120250 NSW_Sydney_Vintage TroubleP4120256 NSW_Sydney_Vintage TroubleP4120258 NSW_Sydney_Vintage Trouble

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I’m not at all technical, but whatever you did to give these photos their character is so perfectly in character with … Vintage !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

