Autumn…

Not quite ‘The Winter of Our Discontent’ although it certainly feels like the Autumn of mine. I deactivated my Instagram account last weekend.

I don’t know when I stopped enjoying it, but since deactivating the account, the feeling of obligation to post at least three times a week has magically disappeared. It’s been months since I’ve been able to post daily, which is what people who are die-hard IGers make a point to do always.

The truth is: I don’t want to think about content for the feed, engaging with the followers, working out which ones are bots, wondering if I’ve been ghosted, thinking (obsessing) about what’s next, worrying about the gap between posts (am I losing followers because of it?), keeping things fresh…

I need a break…

Not to mention, it’s a different proposition: photographing something just because I like it, not wondering about its value in IG terms – how many likes will it garner, how many comments, is it tag/engagement-worthy…?

If I’m quiet here too, it’s because I’m jogging around the Bay, rather than trudging about with the camera. Just for a change, it feels good to be enjoying the outdoors, rather than worrying about the light. It feels good to stay in bed rather than heading out in the dark to catch the sunrise.

Mostly, I’ve decided that when it feels like a chore, it’s time to give it a rest.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Just give it a rest when it starts weighing on you. But please come back here after a while, your pictures are such a delight …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These shots are an absolute delight Mrs M!! 🙂 I’ll wait for however long you want to take, away from the camera… here or on IG. This is worth the wait 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. P.S. I think my fav is the Philodendron 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

