Believe

I find myself at a strange juncture in my love affair with photography. As you may have gathered from the previous post, I was struggling with a combination of fatigue, ennui, apathy, lack of inspiration, pointlessness! OK, maybe you didn’t get all of that from the last post, but I was. I didn’t know why or what I was doing any more. I went from having a camera in my bag every time I left the house to not playing with my toys for days. At best, I felt discombobulated, at worst, I felt like I’d lost the point to life. It sounds dramatic, but it felt like I’d broken up with a significant other or something.

Everywhere I went, I looked, wondering if what I was seeing held a compelling reason for anyone to hold their camera up towards it. Was there something in the frame worth capturing? Was I seeing something in the composition, the light, the subject? Was I seeing a story – or even a one-liner (hey, I was desperate) – before me? I saw nothing for days.

I don’t believe I’m fully through the fog yet. Or maybe it’s a maze. I’m groping a bit, taking a wrong turn every now and again. But I’m not ready to give up yet…

These photos were taken this morning on my way in to work. I used to walk past this church daily, when I lived within walking distance of the office, but I usually approached it from the opposite side. Before departing for the bus, I’d popped the Fujifilm X-T1 into my bag as an after-thought, and decided to take a different route from the usual, getting off the bus one stop early.

I’ve always admired the King Street Courts building but up until today, I’ve never been able to get a shot of the high arch from this particular spot because of the homeless people who tended to congregate there. Regardless of whether they should’ve been there or not, I just never felt comfortable about disturbing them. Today, however – no one.

Or so I thought until I pushed the shutter, and then realised that the man was just there.

 

DSCF5079 Sydney_St James' Church

And then, because I was revelling in almost having the place to myself, I went around the corner to St James’ Church next door and found myself looking up at the stained glass window which just happened to be lit from the inside. If I were a religious person, I might have gone in and prayed for the return of my photography mojo.

I took the photo instead.

DSCF5082 Sydney_St James' Church BW

I said ‘strange’ when I started this post, because I’ve just finished sending off a selection of high-res images from the wedding I shot in February. The bride tells me they’ll be in the next issue of Cosmo Bride. I’ll believe it when I see it.

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Oh! Wow!! MrsM, what a come back (not that I thought you had been ‘away’) That black and white is superb ! Make me want to write something 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 1 and 3 are pretty dark, but 2 is superb: hope the mojo returns full blast, as your talent hasn’t shown any signs of waning!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi, I’m here following the link given by Andy in his poem. Wonderful pictures you have, innovative too…… Thanks for sharing… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

