After-hours

One of the challenges of my photography journey has been making pictures at night. I’m one of those people who lives for the sunrise, so much so that I regularly awaken ages before my alarm goes off. It’s great, but it also means that by sunset, I’m usually ready to wind down – and roaming around at night holds far less appeal for me than does the early morning.

This set was taken over a couple of nights after work in the city; rather than heading directly home after work, I allowed myself to meander, with no particular plan or strategy, trying to see familiar places in unfamiliar lighting conditions. I decided to seize the opportunity on those nights because the Hub was in Melbourne for business, and I didn’t feel the need to rush home for dinner.

The challenge of night photography for me is managing the exposure and the ‘noise’. Especially when taking photos on the street, i.e. shooting on the go, rather than using a tripod (for instance, if I were shooting a night-time cityscape), there are sometimes more misses than hits. But I do enjoy the fact that the city that I know so well in the day-time takes on a different quality in the after-hours.

I seem to have captured a lot of people fixated on their mobile phones of late, and some of them feature in this post.

DSCF5432 Sydney_city_night
Cigarette+ break
DSCF5451 Sydney_city_night
Looking for something
DSCF5465 Sydney_city_night
Choosing a distraction
DSCF5469 Sydney_city_night
Lit city
5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. ‘Lit City’ is amazing 😊👍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are awesome photos! Keep it up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

