City Vignettes

It’s not been a particularly productive time for me, photographically-speaking. I haven’t been doing much on the weekends, nor have I been trying as hard as I should to squeeze in sessions before or after work.

Reason being, I started a new Instagram account in early-June, after thinking about it on and off for a few weeks, and as I think I’ve said previously: I’m terrible at multi-tasking. In other words, I’ve been busy taking photos for that feed instead, and sometimes scribbling, fiddling around with paintbrushes dipped in ink, doodling, drawing… and [obsessively] taking photos of my various fountain pens. (And what’s more, most of the photography is being done with my iPhone 7 Plus.)

Anyway, I decided on Thursday that I’d been neglecting my ‘proper’ camera(s), so I packed the X-T1 into the bag in the morning and after work did a bit of a wander instead of heading directly home. These shots were from that session, and I must say, I’m finding the nighttime scenario reasonably satisfying these days (remember, it was one of the things I wanted to do more of this year?). Lights on at night makes for some pleasing bokeh shapes in the frame every now and again.

I also played a bit with the vignetting in these shots. I think it makes the subject pop a bit more, and can be effective. It’s not something I typically do, nor do I think I would apply very much in my regular set-up going forward – but for the purpose of this exercise, let’s just call it ‘experimentation’.

DSCF6253 NSW_Sydney_city
When I woke up on Thursday morning, I thought it was Friday, so when I saw this jacket I took the photo

DSCF6261 NSW_Sydney_city
Voicemail

DSCF6262 NSW_Sydney_city
His own soundtrack

DSCF6264 NSW_Sydney_city
Passing time

DSCF6266 NSW_Sydney_city
Pull

DSCF6272 NSW_Sydney_city
Al fresco dining tonight?

DSCF6274 NSW_Sydney_city
Trench and trainers

DSCF6277 NSW_Sydney_city
Listening mode

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hard to choose a favourite out of this excellent selection Mrs M – I do love the richness of the colour in the shot “Pull”. I have just bought myself the iPhone 7plus and I must say, I am very happy with its low light capabilities. I am also enjoying your fountain pen activities 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

